Menu Close

People

 

 

 

Principle Investigator:

Shinsuke Shimojo  

 

 

sshimojo@caltech.edu

Research Staff:

Eiko Shimojo Gaze and face attractiveness eiko@caltech.edu

Senior Research Scientist:

Daw-An Wu
  • Visual perception
  • Free will
daw-an@caltech.edu

Visiting Scientists:

Armand Tanguay
  • Multisensory perception including audiovisual illusions in the sighted, blind, and those with low vision
  • Fundmental limitations of sensory substitution devices for the blind and those with low vision
atanguay@caltech.edu
University of Southern California
Carmel Levitan Crossmodal interactions and time perception clevitan@caltech.edu
Occidental College
Noelle R. B. Stiles Crossmodal illusions in the sighted, blind, and low vision nstiles@caltech.edu
University of Southern California
Mohammad Shehata
  • Social brains and bodies.
  • Flow and choking states in video-game players.
  • Ultrasound Neuromodulation.
shehata@caltech.edu
Toyohashi University of Technology

Postdoctoral Scholars:

Christopher Berger
  • Cross-modal sensory substitution and augmentation.
  • Multisensory Psychophysics in Virtual Reality.
cberger@caltech.edu
Takashi Suegami Visual perception and audio-visual cross-modal interaction in the extreme-periphery suegami@caltech.edu
Shao-Min (Sean) Hung
  • Automaticity in unconscious processing
  • Melanopsin-based photoreception
smhung@caltech.edu
Sai Sun Individual differences in neural dynamic fingerprint sssun@caltech.edu

Graduate Students:

Connie Wang Magnetoperception cxw@caltech.edu

Undergraduates:

Sara Adams Vision in extreme periphery

Internal Collaborators:

Joseph Kirschvink Magnetoperception Caltech
Ralph Adolphs Perception and Autism Caltech
John O’Doherty Neural correlates of decision and learning Caltech
Colin Camerer Neural correlates of decision in social context Caltech
Mikhail Shapiro Ultrasound Neuromodulation Caltech
Doris Tsao Ultrasound Neuromodulation Caltech

External Collaborators:

Shigeki Nakauchi Toyohashi University of Technology & Science
Michiteru Kitazaki Toyohashi University of Technology & Science
Kyongsik Yun Implicit social interaction, interpersonal EEG, tDCS NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL)
Takuya Akashi Iwate University
Morimichi Furudate Iwate University
Makio Kashino NTT Communication Science Laboratories
Katsumi Watanabe University of Tokyo
Chihiro Saegusa Neural correlates of face attractiveness Kao Corporation
Tetsuya Matsuda fMRI on preference decision and expertise Tamagawa University
Muneyoshi Takahashi Tamagawa University
Frank Hsu Decision fusion of attractiveness decision Fordham University
Christina Schweikert Decision fusion of attractiveness decision Fordham University
Minoru Aasada Osaka University
Hideyuki Takahashi Osaka University
Tomoyo Morita Osaka University
Alexandre Hideki Okano Federal University of Rio Grande do Norte

Former Lab Members:

Sang Wan Lee

Alma Gharib

Neil Halelamien

Tamara Knutsen

Elisa Carrus

Daniela Mier

Vikram Chib

Nicolas Meirhaeghe